For Spring Break 2010, I attended LeaderShape at Flat Creek Lodge in Swainsboro, Georgia.

Below is a brief description of LeaderShape from the Office of Student Leadership and Civic Engagement website. LeaderShape is an interactive six-day experience designed to equip young adults to become amazing leaders! Students will work in both the large group (60-70 participants) and in small groups known as “family clusters”. Through these interactions students will work to define his/her personal vision – an extraordinary commitment to changing and contributing to the world in a positive way. Throughout LeaderShape students will be a part of a supportive community and will be able to create close friendships with fellow participants and staff facilitators. Students will leave the institute with an appreciation for leading with integrity and will have a healthy disregard for the impossible!

LeaderShape was one of the best experiences of my life. My family cluster was my favorite part. I made some of the closest friendships that will last a lifetime, not counting the memories I will forever carry with me. This experience has me becoming a better leader and showed me what I need to do to make that happen. From the large group exercises to the small groups and one on one, I learned so much about my self and my capabilities to lead and change the world in a positive way. I learned to trust others and to also open up. I walked in to this experience very shy and I came out realizing that I have voice and that I need to use it. My family cluster did a skit and I was one of the main characters, before I would have never done that. This experience is really undescribable. So many tear were shared are friends were made, a vision was created, and now it is up to me to carry it out. I will forever remember this great opportunity I was given.

LEADERSHIP involves living in the state of possibility making a commitment to a vision, developing relationships to move the vision into action, and sustaining a high level of integrity. Effective leadership takes place in the context of a supportive community and results in positive change.

“If you can imagine it, you can achieve it; if you can dream it, you can become it.”   ~William Arthur Ward

